What expectations and anxieties do you have about your internship?

I am very excited to start my internship at Hidden Valley Orthodontics (HVO). I have always known that healthcare is the type of field I would like to pursue for a career later in life. Originally, I wanted and internship that was focused more on physical therapy or athletic training, but I wanted to expand my horizons and open my mind to other opportunities that I would like to try out. Since I had such a wonderful experience at the orthodontist I used for my braces, I figured it would be a good partnership and I would gain meaningful experiences interning with HVO.
Some expectations I have are that I will be able to strengthen my communication skills in a professional setting and will have a deeper understanding of how each persons role makes the company operate smoothly. In addition to the expectations, I also have some anxieties about this experience. I am most anxious about my first day. I’m not sure exactly what to expect on the first day and I’m the type of person that usually has an idea of what’s going to happen, but for the first day I’m just going into it with an open mind and know I will gain a lot more knowledge about what’s going to happen next. Overall, I am looking forward to starting my internship and know I will walk out of it with useful experiences I can use to determine if this is something I would like to pursue.

